Skip to Content

Sustainability Council

The mission of the Metro’s Sustainability Council is to improve sustainability efforts by developing targets, metrics and strategies to assist Metro in achieving stated sustainability program goals.

The objectives of the Sustainability Council are as follows:

  • To advise in the development of Metro’s sustainability goals, established targets and performance measures, and assist in the tracking and reporting on a quarterly as outlined in Motion 57’s four major categories: 1) Climate Change & Resiliency, 2) Energy, 3) Solid Waste & Recycling, and 4) Water;
  • Improve  understanding of our constituents and stakeholders of the sustainability-related efforts and opportunities at LA Metro; and
  • To provide input on the following priorities for FY19: 1) Climate Action and Adaptation Plan, 2) Green Procurement Policy and 3) Resiliency Framework. Sustainability Council's Meeting ARC

Meetings for Fiscal Year 2020

Meetings for fiscal year 2019

Sustainability Council Accomplishments for FY18

  • Reviewed, provided comments, and accepted the Regional Advancement Mitigation Plan Report (RAMP) provided by Metro staff.
  • Facilitated Earth Day events throughout LA County (i.e. Bureau of Sanitation events). Provided sustainability materials for inner City kids (500) in conjunction with LADWP and the Music Center.
  • Engaged International technical companies (Finland, Norway) who were invited to present to the Council that provided sustainability solutions (i.e. virtual Think Tank).
  • International Conference on Sustainable Infrastructure (ICSI) 2019 Conference – Cris Liban submitted that we co-host this event as part of Council outreach and partnerships.

Past meeting agendas

Local Govt Public entities (COGs, cities, special jurisdictions) Organization
City of LA
Primary Lauren Faber City of LA
Alternate Michael Samulon City of LA
County of LA
Primary Kristen Torres-Pawling County of LA
Alternate Rita Kampalath County of LA
Other (Small Cities, etc.)
Primary Thomas Small Small Cities
Alternate Wendy Nystrom Small Cities
Environment NGOs
Water Resources
Primary VACANT
Alternate Roy Thun SuRF
Water Quality
Primary VACANT
Alternate VACANT
Primary VACANT
Alternate VACANT
Habitat/Natural Resources
Primary Miguel Ramos The Nature Conservancy
Alternate VACANT
Primary David Diaz Active SGV
Alternate VACANT
Materials and Resources
Primary Bryn Lindblad Climate Resolve
Alternate Peter Meng CEENGR
Air Quality
Primary Joel Levin Plug-In America
Alternate VACANT
NGO Equity
Social, Environment Injustice (Equity)
Primary VACANT
Alternate VACANT
Professional Associations (Architects & Engineers)
Primary Ghina Yamout Alta Environmental
Alternate Joe Ablay ICI Engineering
Primary Patricia Menjivar Kleinfelder
Alternate Kimberly Colbert Colbert Group
Landscaping & Infrastructure Design
Primary Doug Dietrich Burns and McDonnell
Alternate Charles Favors CBF XIERSCAPE DESIGNS LLC.
Local Labor Unions
Primary Jennifer Kropke IBEW
Alternate VACANT
Public Health
Primary VACANT
Alternate VACANT
Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)
Primary VACANT
Alternate VACANT
Transportation Business Advisory Council (TBAC)
Primary Berwyn Salazar Global ASR
Alternate James Okazaki TBAC - AA/AEA
Associated General Contractors (AGC)
Primary Emily Freund WSP
Alternate Mark Kempton Kempton Strategies
Green Building & Services Industry
Primary Salem Afeworki Value Sustainability
Alternate Pavitra Rammohan Deep Root Green Infrastructure LLC
Primary Kat Janowicz 3COTECH
Alternate VACANT
Real Estate Development
Primary VACANT
Alternate VACANT
Academic Institution
Primary Hilda Blanco USC
Alternate Mehran Mazari CalState LA
Foreign Organization
Foreign Entities
Primary VACANT
Alternate VACANT